The Greek Parliament

The Greek Parliament or Hellenic Parliament is the parliament of Greece, located in the center of Athens City. Moreover, it is the Old Royal Palace, an austere Neoclassical building, overlooking Syntagma Square in Athens. In addition, it is the supreme democratic institution that represents the citizens through an elected body of Members of Parliament.

The Greek Parliament is a three-floor building that has two entrances. The first one of the west side which is used for the entering of the MPs in the building. The second one is on the front side, facing the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Next to the Parliament House, there are the National Gardens and Zappeion Megaron. The construction of this building lasted from 1836 till 1842. The German architect Friedrich von Gartner is the one who designed it. Also, it is a unicameral legislature of 300 members, elected for a four-year term.  During 1844–63 and 1927–35 the parliament was bicameral with an upper house, the Senate, and a lower house, the Chamber of Deputies, which retained the name Vouli.

Originally, it served as the Royal Palace for the Greek Kings. The main Chamber of the Greek Parliament is housed on the ground floor, in the once Ball Room. What’s more, it is amphitheatrical in layout and a vi trail room provides natural light in the daytime. The arrangement for the MPs seats is in five circular sectors. A balcony above the Chamber serves as the visitor’s gallery.


An almost identical, smaller chamber was built on the second floor for the use of the Senate, but since the Senate was abolished, this chamber is used today for party meetings.

Syntagma Square

Tours We Recommend